Southern California Indoor Volleyball Hall of Fame #SCIVBHOF

Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame


The Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame (SCBBHOF) was founded in 2019, and honors legendary local basketball players, coaches, and contributors while supporting youth efforts through its 501c3 charity (81-3695316).  The latest event to honor the 2022 and 2023 induction classes is Sunday night, September 17 at the Hwy 39 Event Center in Anaheim.

Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame

The Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame (SCBBHOF) honors legendary local basketball players & coaches while supporting youth playing through charity donations. The non-profit covers all areas of Southern California from Los Angeles to Orange County to San Diego, Inland Empire and up to Santa Barbara.

2022-23 Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame Induction Class

Front row (L to R): Sa’de Wiley-Gatewood, Ebony Hoffman, Reynaldo Brown (for Bill Armstrong), Jeanette Pohlen, Nicole Erickson, Eugenia Miller, Lorenzo Romar, Willie West Jr., Giuliana Mendiola, Rich Branning, Steve Fryer (Lifetime), Terri Bamford, Stacey Cvijanovich (for Lou Cvijanovich). Second Row (L to R): Michael Cooper, Stacey Augmon, Marques Johnson, Tayshaun Prince, David Greenwood. Back Row (L to R): Kris Johnson, Mitchell Butler, Jay Bilas, Rainer Wulf (Lifetime). Missing Andre Miller (Photo by Jim Wolf).


Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame selections Paul Pierce from Inglewood HS and Kansas (2021), and UNLV NCAA championship coach Jerry Tarkanian from Pasadena HS and Fresno State (2021), plus College Basketball Hall of Fame pick David Greenwood from Verbum Dei HS and UCLA (2021), and Stanford three-time NCAA finalist Jeanette Pohlen (Brea-Olinda HS), headline the 30 greats elected for the 2022 and 2023 classes of the Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame. The 2020 and 2021 selections were honored on Sunday night, May 21, 2023 at the Highway 39 Events Center in Anaheim, while the 2022 and 2023 classes will be recognized during 2023-24.

Coaching greats Bill Armstrong (Compton HS, Palm Springs HS), Lorenzo Romar (St. Louis, Washington, Pepperdine), and Willie West Jr. (Crenshaw HS) were also selected for 2022. La Jolla Country Day HS championship coach Terri Bamford is part of the 2023 class along with USC Hall of Fame coach Bob Boyd. Also being selected in 2023 was standout local player Bill Laimbeer (Palos Verdes), who had a tremendous WNBA championship coaching career. Also elected was Santa Clara HS of Oxnard Hall of Fame coach Lou Cvijanovich, who passed away in 2018, He retired from coaching after compiling a state record 829 wins.

Female SCBBHOF selections in 2022 included college and WNBA players Nicole Erickson (Brea- Olinda, Purdue/Duke), Ebony Hoffman (Narbonne, USC), Eugenia Miller-Rycraw (Crenshaw, Cal State Fullerton), and Candice Wiggins (La Jolla Country Day, Stanford). Selections in 2023 included college and professional standouts Sa’de Wiley Gatewood (Lynwood, Tennessee/ Maryland), and Giuliana Mendiola (El Toro/Washington).

Other standout local high school players elected in 2022 include Stacey Augmon (Muir, UNLV), ESPN announcer Jay Bilas (Rollings Hills, Duke), Mitchell Butler (Oakwood, UCLA), Michael Cooper (Pasadena, Pasadena CC, New Mexico), Keith Erickson (El Segundo, El Camino CC, UCLA), Andre Miller (Verbum Dei, Utah), and Tayshaun Prince (Dominguez, Kentucky). Long-time sportswriter Steve Fryer of the OC Register/SCNG was selected for the 2022 Lifetime Service Award.

Included from the 2023 class were California’s Mr. Basketball Rich Branning (Marina, Notre Dame), California State Champion/LA City Player of the Year, Kris Johnson (Crenshaw, UCLA), two-time LA City Player of the Year and UCLA NCAA Champion Greg Lee (Reseda, UCLA), Southern California’s first Mr. Basketball Willie Naulls (San Pedro/UCLA), LA City top title game scorer Dwayne Polee Sr. (Manual Arts, UNLV/Pepperdine), and number three all-time NCAA scorer Freeman Williams (Manual Arts/Portland State). Rainer Wulf, a former Bishop Amat/UC Irvine standout, who has been the long-time Basketball Commissioner for the CIFSS, is the Lifetime Service winner for 2023.

2023 SCBBHOF HONOREES: Terri Bamford, Bob Boyd, Rich Branning, Lou Cvijanovich, Sa’de Wiley Gatewood, Kris Johnson, Bill Laimbeer, Greg Lee, Giuliana Mendiola, Willie Naulls, Dwayne Polee Sr., Jeanette Pohlen, Jerry Tarkanian, Freeman Williams, Lifetime: Rainer Wulf

2022 SCBBHOF HONOREES: Bill Armstrong, Stacey Augmon, Jay Bilas, Mitchell Butler, Michael Cooper, Keith Erickson, Nicole Erickson, David Greenwood, Ebony Hoffman, Andre Miller, Eugenia Miller Rycraw, Paul Pierce, Tayshaun Prince, Lorenzo Romar, Willie West, Jr., Candice Wiggins, Lifetime: Steve Fryer

2021 SCBBHOF HONOREES: Rick Adelman, Gilbert Arenas, Joe Caldwell, Baron Davis, Nancy Dunkle, Gail Goodrich, Dennis Johnson, Steve Kerr, Raymond Lewis, David Meyers, Reggie Miller, Harold Miner, Anita Ortega, Byron Scott, Linda K. Sharp, Reggie Theus, Tina Thompson, Sidney Wicks, John Williams, George Yardley. Lifetime: Eric Sondheimer

2020 SCBBHOF HONOREES: Jarron Collins, Jason Collins, Cynthia Cooper-Dyke, Jim Harrick, Casey Jacobsen, Marques Johnson, Lisa Leslie, Don MacLean, Gary McKnight, Ann Meyers Drysdale, Cheryl Miller, Tracy Murray, Pete Newell, Ed O’Bannon, Miles Simon, Kiki VanDeWeghe, Bill Walton, Paul Westphal, Jamaal Wilkes, Leon Wood. Lifetime: Frank Burlison

NAISMITH HALL OF FAME (Began in 1959): Pete Newell (1979), Ann Meyers Drysdale (1993), Bill Walton (1993), Cheryl Miller (1995), Gail Goodrich (1996), George Yardley (1996), Cynthia Cooper-Dyke (2010), Dennis Johnson (2010), Jamaal Wilkes (2012), Reggie Miller (2012), Jerry Tarkanian (2013), Lisa Leslie (2015), Tina Thompson (2018), Paul Westphal (2019), Rick Adelman (2021), Paul Pierce (2021).

WOMEN’S BASKETBALL HALL OF FAME (Began in 1999): Ann Meyers Drysdale (1999), Cheryl Miller (1999), Nancy Dunkle (2000), Linda K. Sharp (2001), Cynthia Cooper-Dyke (2009), Lisa Leslie (2015), Tina Thompson (2018), Anita Ortega (2018, Trailblazer).

COLLEGE BASKETBALL HALL OF FAME (Began in 2006): Pete Newell (2006), Bill Walton (2006), George Yardley (2006), Gail Goodrich (2006), Sidney Wicks (2010), Marques Johnson (2013), Jamaal Wilkes (2016), Paul Westphal (2018), David Greenwood (2021), Paul Pierce (2021).

New Inductees

Find out who the 2022/2023 Inductees for SCBBHOF are:
Click Here


We need your donations to update the home of the Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame. Contact us via email at [email protected] or call: 310-602-9302 or mail a charity donation
81-3695316 payable to SCBBHOF to 2355 Westwood Blvd., Su. 127, Los Angeles, CA 90064.


Follow Us Online:

Make a Donation | Become a Sponsor