8 Members of Naismith BB HOF part of 1st Induction Class for So. Calif. Basketball HOF for Aug. 23 Event

SCBBHOF is A 501c3 Charity (84-3660381)
Email: SoCalBBHOF@gmail.com

Website: socalbasketballhof.com
Contact: 10586 W. Pico Blvd., Su. 279

The Southern California Basketball Hall of Fame (SCBBHOF) is excited to announce its first induction class. Eight members of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, four selections from the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame and four picks from the College Basketball Hall of Fame comprise half of the first honoree class of 20 for ceremonies, which will take place on Sunday night, August 23 in Anaheim. The SCBBHOF, a 501c3 charity, will be housed at American Sports Centers (ASC) in Anaheim.

Naismith HOF members going into the first SCBBHOF class include Coach Pete Newell (1979), Bill Walton (1993), Ann Meyers Drysdale (1993), Cheryl Miller (1995), Cynthia Cooper-Dyke (2010), Jamaal Wilkes (2012), Lisa Leslie (2015) and Paul Westphal (2019). Meyers Drysdale, Miller, Cooper-Dyke and Leslie are also in the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame.

Also going into the first induction class are High School All-Americans and NCAA champions Marques Johnson (also in the College Basketball HOF along with Walton, Wilkes and Westphal), Ed O’Bannon, and Miles Simon.

More High School and College All-Americans going into the SCBBHOF include Jarron and Jason Collins, Casey Jacobsen, Don MacLean, Tracy Murray, Kiki VanDeWeghe and Leon Wood.

Decorated coaches Jim Harrick, who won a NCAA title at UCLA and Gary McKnight, who has won multiple national high school championships at Mater Dei, are also part of the first class. HOF sportwriter Frank Burlison is being honored as the first SCBBHOF Lifetime Service award winner on August 23.


Jarron Collins
Cynthia Cooper-Dyke
Casey Jacobsen
Lisa Leslie
Gary McKnight
Cheryl Miller
Pete Newell
Miles Simon
Bill Walton
Jamaal Wilkes

Jason Collins
Jim Harrick
Marques Johnson
Don MacLean
Ann Meyers Drysdale
Tracy Murray
Ed O’Bannon
Kiki VanDeWeghe
Paul Westphal
Leon Wood

LIFETIME: Frank Burlison, Sportswriter

“We have an amazing first group of basketball legends with strong Southern California backgrounds for our honorees and it will be a tremendous first event on August 23,” said Matt Kanne, President of the SCBBHOF. “We think the HOF can be an excellent avenue for developing the charity to provide more and more kids the opportunity to play basketball and I want to thank ASC (American Sports Centers) for wanting to be the home for this wonderful project.”

SCBBHOF Members in Naismith, Women’s, College BB HOFS

NAISMITH HALL OF FAME: Pete Newell (1979), Ann Meyers Drysdale (1993), Bill Walton (1993), Cheryl Miller (1995), Cynthia Cooper-Dyke (2010), Jamaal Wilkes (2012), Lisa Leslie (2015), Paul Westphal (2019).

WOMEN’S BASKETBALL HALL OF FAME: Ann Meyers Drysdale (1999), Cheryl Miller (1999), Cynthia Cooper-Dyke (2009), Lisa Leslie (2015).

COLLEGE BASKETBALL HALL OF FAME: Bill Walton (2006), Marques Johnson (2013), Jamaal Wilkes (2016), Paul Westphal (2018).